Psychology is one of the most popular subjects among students in Germany. Now, for the first time, aptitude tests are being held throughout the country prior to students embarking on a psychology degree. Also, new study options have evolved as a result of the reform of the academic training to become a psychotherapist in autumn 2020. A newly revised information brochure published by the CHE Centre for Higher Education explains why going abroad to study psychology on a programme with open admissions with a view to a career in psychotherapy could now lead to a dead end.

The number of psychology students in Germany has more than doubled in the last decade. In winter semester 2021/22, around 105,000 students were enrolled on a relevant degree programme, the majority of them in North Rhine-Westphalia, Baden-Württemberg or Thuringia.

But the demand for places exceeds availability. Psychology is one of the few disciplines that are still subject to admission restrictions nationwide. According to the Stiftung für Hochschulzulassung (Foundation for University Admissions), there were around 40,000 applicants for the 5,500 places available in winter semester 2021/22. The ratio of applicants to first-year students (7.2) is therefore roughly twice as high as that for medicine (3.8), for example.

Grafik: Psychology (at universities) is one of the few disciplines that are still subject to admission restrictions nationwide. The ratio of applicants to places is significantly higher than for medicine.

For this reason, many prospective students in the past have opted for degree programmes with less rigorous admission restrictions in other European countries, such as Austria, the Netherlands, England and Belgium. Addressing this aspect, CHE has now published a revised version of its guide “CHE kurz + kompakt: Psychotherapie studieren” (CHE short + compact – Studying psychotherapy) with additional answers concerning the issue of studying abroad.

“Transitioning from a Bachelor’s degree in psychology abroad to a Master’s degree in Germany, however, can soon lead to a dead end,” warned Cort-Denis Hachmeister. “Following the reform of psychology degree programmes in Germany, students intending to switch to a German university after completing their Bachelor’s degree abroad must now make sure that their undergraduate degree exactly matches the requirements of the Master’s degree programme or the licensing regulations for psychotherapists in Germany. Given the novelty of these programmes, there are unfortunately no precedents to guide us,” stated the psychologist and expert in access to higher education at CHE. Ultimately, decisions are made on a case-by-case basis, which can vary greatly depending on the location of the university and the state examination office concerned.

These changes were triggered by Germany’s new Psychotherapists’ Act, which came into force in autumn 2020. As a result, graduates of a relevant degree programme automatically receive their Approbation, i.e. the licence to practice psychotherapy. The new licensing regulations for psychotherapists require that students first pursue a so-called polyvalent Bachelor’s degree programme in psychology at a university. Only graduates of such a programme will be eligible for admission to a Master’s programme leading to Approbation, whereby the number of places on these programmes is lower than the number of places on Bachelor’s programmes. “As a result, access to a Master’s programme in Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy represents the bottleneck that regulates the number of psychotherapists in Germany,” remarked Hachmeister.

Some universities, such as the University of Salzburg, have already announced that they will adapt their degree programmes to the reformed study programmes in Germany, enabling their graduates to achieve the transition from an undergraduate degree to a Master’s programme. Higher education expert Cort-Denis Hachmeister therefore advises psychology students abroad to contact their university of choice for pursuing a Master’s degree in Germany before completing their Bachelor’s degree. This would give them sufficient time to earn any further credits needed while they are still abroad, and to have them recognised.

“Given the many risks associated with recognition, German psychology students abroad should also consider completing their entire studies or the qualification to become a psychotherapist abroad,” Hachmeister advised. In addition, the newly introduced aptitude test for psychology gives prospective students the opportunity to improve their chances of securing a place on a Bachelor’s degree programme in Germany during the selection process. The days of testing (on 20 and 21 May 2023) will be held once a year in the future, revealing subject-specific skills in a similar way to the tests already in place for would-be medical students.

About the publication:

In the “CHE kurz + kompakt” series, each six- or 7-page edition provides answers to the key questions regarding the issue at hand. The information package, available in pdf format, is rounded off with an annotated list of links and checklists for progressing and looking into the matter in further detail. The publication entitled “CHE kurz + kompakt – Psychotherapie studieren” (CHE short + compact – Studying psychotherapy) was written by Cort-Denis Hachmeister.

Icon

CHE kurz + kompakt - Psychotherapie studieren 9. February 2021 689.87 KB 126820 downloads

Hachmeister, Cort-Denis: CHE kurz + kompakt - Psychotherapie studieren, Gütersloh,...

 

Foto: Gerd Altmann / Pixabay

Psychologie gehört zu den beliebtesten Studienfächern in Deutschland. Aktuell finden erstmals flächendeckend Eignungstests vor dem Studienbeginn statt. Durch die Reform der akademischen Ausbildung als Psychotherapeut*in im Herbst 2020 gibt es auch neue Studienangebote. Warum deshalb ein zulassungsfreies Psychologiestudium im Ausland auf dem Weg zur Psychotherapie zur Sackgasse werden kann, klärt eine neu überarbeitete Version einer Info-Broschüre des CHE Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung.

Innerhalb von 10 Jahren hat sich die Anzahl der Psychologiestudierenden in Deutschland mehr als verdoppelt. Im Wintersemester 2021/22 waren rund 105.000 Studierende in einem entsprechenden Studiengang eingeschrieben, die meisten davon in Nordrhein-Westfalen, Baden-Württemberg oder Thüringen.

Doch die Nachfrage übersteigt das Angebot. Psychologie gehört weiterhin zu den wenigen Studienfächern, für die eine bundesweite Zulassungsbeschränkung gilt. Auf die verfügbaren 5.500 Studienplätze bewarben sich im Wintersemester 2021/22 laut der Stiftung für Hochschulzulassung rund 40.000 Studieninteressierte. Damit liegt das Verhältnis von Bewerber*innen zu Studienanfänger*innen mit 7,2 etwa doppelt so hoch wie etwa in der Medizin (3,8).

Viele Studieninteressierte nutzten in der Vergangenheit deshalb weniger zulassungsbeschränkte Angebote im europäischen Ausland, wie etwa in Österreich, den Niederlanden, England oder Belgien. Deshalb hat das CHE seinen Ratgeber „CHE kurz + kompakt: Psychotherapie studieren“ nun in einer überarbeiten Ausgabe herausgebracht und um Antworten zum Thema Auslandsstudium ergänzt.

„Der Weg über einen Psychologie-Bachelor im Ausland ins deutsche Masterstudium zu wechseln, kann allerdings schnell zur Sackgasse werden“, warnt Cort-Denis Hachmeister. „Nach der Reform der Psychologiestudiengänge in Deutschland muss nun bei einem Wechsel sichergestellt sein, dass der ausländische Bachelorstudiengang genau zu den Anforderungen des Masterstudienganges bzw. der Approbationsordnung in Deutschland passt. Hier gibt es leider wegen der Neuheit der Studiengänge noch keine Präzedenzfälle, an denen man sich orientieren kann“, so der Psychologe und Experte für Hochschulzugang beim CHE. Die Entscheidung sei am Ende eine Einzelfallprüfung, die abhängig vom Hochschulstandort und jeweiligem Landesprüfungsamt ganz unterschiedlich ausfallen könne.

Auslöser ist das im Herbst 2020 eingeführte neue Psychotherapeutengesetz in Deutschland. Damit erhält man nun bereits nach einem entsprechend abgeschlossenen Studium die Approbation, also die Erlaubnis zur Behandlung. Die neue Approbationsordnung sieht vor, dass man zunächst einen sogenannten polyvalenten Bachelorstudiengang im Fach Psychologie an einer Universität studiert. Nur ein solcher Studiengang berechtigt qualifiziert zur Aufnahme eines zur Approbation führenden Masterstudiums – wobei die Anzahl der Plätze in diesen Studiengängen niedriger ist als die Zahl der Bachelorstudienplätze. „Damit ist der Zugang zum Masterstudium Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie das Nadelöhr, über den die Zahl der Psychotherapeut*innen in Deutschland geregelt wird“, so Hachmeister.

Einzelne Hochschulen, wie etwa die Universität Salzburg haben bereits angekündigt, ihr Studienangebot an die reformierten Studiengänge in Deutschland anzupassen, um eine Anschlussfähigkeit nach dem Bachelor herzustellen. Studienexperte Cort-Denis Hachmeister rät Psychologiestudierenden im Ausland deshalb, bereits vor dem Bachelor Kontakt mit möglichen Wunsch-Hochschulen für das Masterstudium in Deutschland aufzunehmen, um eventuell fehlende Studienleistungen bereits noch im Ausland zu absolvieren und diese anerkennen zu lassen.

„Angesichts der vielen Risiken bei der Anerkennung, sollten deutsche Psychologiestudierende im Ausland auch in Betracht ziehen, das komplette Studium bzw. die Qualifizierung zum Psychotherapeuten im Ausland zu absolvieren“, so Hachmeister. Zudem biete der neu eingeführte Studieneignungstest für Psychologie die Möglichkeit, die Chancen auf einen Bachelor-Studienplatz in Deutschland beim Auswahlverfahren zu verbessern. Die am 20. und 21. Mai 2023 durchgeführten Testtage sollen künftig einmal jährlich stattfinden und – ähnlich zu den bereits etablierten Medizinertests – fachspezifische Fähigkeiten sichtbar machen.

Über die Publikation:

In der Reihe „CHE kurz + kompakt“ gibt es auf 6-7 Seiten jeweils Antworten auf die wichtigsten Fragen zum Thema. Eine kommentierte Linkliste und Checklisten für nächste Schritte und weitere Recherchen runden das Infopaket im pdf-Format ab. Autor der Publikation „CHE kurz + kompakt – Psychotherapie studieren“ ist Cort-Denis Hachmeister.

Icon

CHE kurz + kompakt - Psychotherapie studieren 9. Februar 2021 689.87 KB 126820 downloads

Hachmeister, Cort-Denis: CHE kurz + kompakt - Psychotherapie studieren, Gütersloh,...

 

Bildquelle: Gerd Altmann / Pixabay

Cort-Denis Hachmeister

Senior Expert Datenanalyse

Tel.: +49 5241 9761-35
Fax: +49 5241 9761-40
E-Mail: Cort-Denis.Hachmeister@che.de

Assistenz:
Tina Schürmann
Tel.: +49 5241 9761-39

Arbeitsschwerpunkte:
Forschung an Fachhochschulen / Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften, Hochschulzugang / Studierendenauswahl, Studienwahl, CHE Hochschulranking: Technische Betreuung, Online-Ranking deutsch/englisch

https://www.che.de/teams/cort-denis-hachmeister